Loading ...

QQube data to ADODB recordset | CLEARIFY

Posted in: QQube    Microsoft Access

QQube data to ADODB recordset

Subscribe to RSS
  • Hello

I am a software developer working for an accounting firm

We have developed a project reporting system/set of dashboards that we are hoping to roll out to several of our clients

Several of our clients use QuickBooks – we were hoping to use QQube as the ‘connector’ between our reporting software and quickbooks.

To do this, within Excel VBA - I was hoping to be able create my own queries and retrieve the data from the datafile to a ADODB recordset at runtime instead of reading it to excel sheets.

i.e. I want to write a VBA script that retrieves data from the QQube database to a ADODB recordset and then filters through the recordset at runtime to get the info I need

Do you have any information as to whether this is even possible? And if so is there any information you could provide me with i.e. how to write a connection string to the database. 

If this is possible - is there someway I can obtain a sample copy of the QQube database so that I might get a 3rd party to assist with building the data retrieval script without compromising live client data.

Really appreciate any information you can give me in this regard

Thanks

• The Excel Add-In is just front end to Microsoft Query, and as you will notice in our How To Use QQube area, that we interface with many applications out of the box.

All of this is done with the installation of two ubiquitous DSN's - See this guide: https://clearify.com/wiki/view/92/installed-components

Although the primary reason for QQube is so that customers don't have to deal with tables and relationships, we have many customers who are developers like your self, creating manual queries from our schema - rather than have to spend the months and years reengineering QuickBooks - which we have already done for you.