Loading ...

Last transaction for each item purchased by all customers | CLEARIFY

Posted in: QQube    Excel and the Excel Add-In

Last transaction for each item purchased by all customers

Subscribe to RSS
  • Hello. I am new to Qqube. I have setup a report showing customer, last transaction/invoice date, item name, and used sales total and sale quantity to calculate cost per item. I want to filter so that it only shows me the last (most recent) purchase of every item for each customer. For example, I have customers who buy the same item once per week and have for the last 5 years. I don't want to see every single one of those purchases, I just want to see the last time they purchased and the cost at which they purchased it. I can't figure out how to filter for LAST date of transaction for each item.

Our goal is to pick-up "lost" customers.  To easily find customers who have not puchased in a long time.  We could use the same table, as described above, to sort by item price to call customers whose price we can improve.  All goals are to generate more sales!

If there is another solution to achieve the goal stated above, I don't have to have it they way I set it up.  Any advice is appreciated!

• Answered

Hi Morgan,

It depends on what tool you're using to access the data. Since we only use Crystal Reports, I would suggest this:

Create a group on customer, a group on item name, add a Summary field for the Txn Date (Maximum) and a group on Txn Date, and then set the Group Sort to Top 1 for each Maximum Date. Sort the detail rows by date, and place the fields you want to show in the Group 3 footer (by date).  Of course I'd have to try that to see exactly how to make it work - but that's my quick answer. Fran Reed could answer for using Excel!

Alternately you could write some fancy SQL :)

Angela Meharg Founder, Datisfy Inc. +1 800-801-4024
  • Hey there...  in Excel, I would create a pivot report with ITEM first, then Customer, Last OrderDate(or ref number)..